The Massive Little Things

I know everyone has them, their favourite show that in rain or shine, sickness or health, for better of for worse. They can watch non stop, on repeat for the 100th time. For me that is How I Met Your Mother.

I relate so strongly to the different characters, I love their adventures, I dream of friendships like they have, my heart breaks for them and soars with them. I would go as far as too say part of my soul is connected to HIMYM. I base my expectations, my views on things, my ideas off theirs. I always hope that life will have the same sort of essence that these characters share and the show bases itself on.

I love the fact that the show bounces from fun crazy mishap adventures, to crazy challenges, silly catch phrases straight to soul crushing deep and meaningful, offering life lessons and challenging thoughts. The show allows you to completely emotionally connect with the challenges and the stages of life the characters are going through.

Quotes like this

‘I realised that I’m searching, searching for what I really want in life. And you know what? I have absolutely no idea what that is.’

and

“When you meet the right person, you know it. You can’t stop thinking about them. They are your best friend and your soulmate. You can’t wait to spend the rest of your life with them. No one and nothing else can compare.”

I have watched this show back to back over 10 times now, I sit there and I quote episodes, I cry, I laugh. I think there’s something magical about this, because it has totally shaped my views, I take the resilient romantic side of Ted, I take the fun loving adventurous side of Barney, the ambitious strong side of Robin, the wise best friend of Lily, and the Loyal and morally strong side of Marshall. Along with most of their faults…

I love the themes of friendship, they are always together, supporting each other, they argue and fight but at the end of the day in life there are going to be ups and downs and they don’t sugar coat it but they show you the value of friendship. They show you how to value each other and what it really means to be a friend.

I love how they don’t shy away from the hard things, the deal with loneliness, with hurt, with the truly painful moments. The scene where Marshall get’s told his dad has died makes me cry every time. Because I know I would react exactly the same way if that was me. When Lily discusses the struggles of motherhood and her own failed ambition. Ted being left at the altar. It has some emotion wrenching moments.

I love how they grow and evolve together, they aren’t one dimensional, silly sit-com characters. They represent aspects of our lives and they present an of course entertaining version of life.

Whenever I have an issue I will go back through the show, find the episode that relates to my issue, watch it and correlate it to my life. Now whether I’m crazy or not is up too you. But HIMYM for me is a real base to see my values, and have something to aspire too, views to follow and something to aim for in my own life. Let alone being a safe place to just forget my issues and join in with theirs!

I know we all have something, whether it be a tv show, a movie, a song, a book. Something that we fall back on when we are lost and don’t know what to do. Because life is tough and something has to pull you through…

And if you don’t I would recommend How I Met Your Mother as a good place to start.

 

Leave a Reply

